You have 0 items in your cart   |    Subtotal: $0.00 Check Out      
  Advanced search

The value and rarity of the pearl is defined by the beauty of its color, its shape, and its size. In these factors every pearl is unique.
The average Tahitian cultured pearl’s diameter ranges between 9 to 12 mm. Larger size are exceptional. The largest ever found was 20.92mm, you can see it at the Papeete museum in Tahiti. The value of a pearl fluctuates greatly depending on the size, it can double for few millimeters.
8mm pearl
10mm pearl
11mm pearl
12mm pearl
15mm pearl
17mm pearl
Shapes are classified by their rarity and value:
round pearl oval pearl drop pearl bouton pearl baroque pearl ringed pearl
The luster is the reflective quality of the pearl’s surface. The way the layers of nacre were made by the oyster will give to the pearl a high or low reflection of light - a high or low luster.
The French Polynesian Parliament regulation defined 4 basic qualities, based on the number of imperfection found on the surface of the pearl as well as the intensity of the luster
A qualtiy pearl
b quality pearl
c quality pearl
d quality pearl
One or a few imperfections on less than 10% of the surface of the pearl.

The luster must be high
Few imperfections on 10 to 30 % of the surface.

The luster must at least be average
Slight imperfection on 30 to 60 % of the surface.

The luster is low
Imperfections on more than 60 % of the surface.

The luster is weak
blue pearl green pearl eggplant pearl peacock pearl gold pearl

The Tahitian pearls come in a wide variety of colors which reflect the palette of the Polynesian islands: as blue as the lagoon, as green as the lush vegetation, as pink the color of a sunset.

The colors do not play a role on the classification.

The value of a color is up to the personal taste of each individual, even though some color can be rarer than others.


pearl education

the Bora Pearl Team | FAQ | visiting Bora Bora | testimonials | helpful links | polynesian art